Herb Cheese on Rye

ImageI wanted to try a very simple appetizer approach with the blog today. We have so many items that I see and several that I’ve tried that would be great hors d’oeuvres, I just don’t always try them out that way. Today I looked at three of our packaged breads: the Ruhrtaler’s Rye, the Rye Ola’s Black Rye, & Feldkamp’s Westphalian Pumpernickel.  I’ve tried the Rye Ola Black Rye before and I absolutely love it. I asked our new guy at the Market what he thought about the Ruhrtaler vs Feldkamp. Chris is a Chef who just moved over from Germany, he immediately suggested the Rye.

I wanted to try one of our spreadable cheeses because we had a guest in last week who was singing its praises as he carried them to the register. Again I had a choice between 3 types:  Herb, Mushroom, & Cream. The herb seems to be the most popular so I decided to go for it.

ImageI first tried them separately so that I could fully appreciate just how they tasted on their own. The rye bread was heavy, chewy and had that special tang that is so well known and looked for in a good rye. The cheese comes in a little wheel shaped box with individually wrapped wedges on the inside. On its own the cheese was very rich in flavor with a thick texture when I bit down. While sharing with my cohorts we could discern the flavors or chives, dill, & thyme.

I was sampling the cheese right after I pulled them from the case. I wanted to make a bit to share to get additional feedback from my co-workers. This is a nice way to limit my portion control since I’ve also been working out lately, so when I looked at sampling a whole package of bread and cheese by myself just seemed a little overboard for me at the moment. Thankfully I have some of the most obliging coworkers when it comes to accepting food samples.

One piece of the cheese was the perfect amount for the small square of rye bread, I would suggest letting the cheese sit out for a few minutes, because trying to spread it right out of the cold was a little difficult. The bread is very firm and that worked in my favor because it made it very easy to break it into even pieces to pass out.

Aaron was my first victim since he was in the back office working. He has actually tried the bread before and felt that the cheese was “the best thing, it needed something dense and creamy” he said it was like a mix between butter & cream cheese.

Next I took my samples into the kitchen with Chefs Garyn & Lisa. Garyn really got into it, taking the time to savor and ponder the sample. He described it as creamy, sweet & savory with a tang. He could see using it with a lot of variations like fish or dried fruit.

Since Chef Lisa is a celiac she was only able to sample the cheese since my bread choice was not Gluten Free, she really enjoyed it was a bit rich to her tastes.

Overall we agreed that this is a fantastic idea for a quick appetizer that will surely Wow the crowd.

Leave a Reply

